In this topic:

AACI has developed standards for hospitals and other healthcare organizations, addressing key areas of organizational performance. Our standards have always been created by the people who use them. AACI has been involved in the development of standards for a range of healthcare facilities for over ten years.

Standards have been developed, piloted, used and refined for :

  1. hospitals
  2. dentists ( see below Accreditation Standard for Dental Organizations)
  3. outpatient specialist centers
  4. rehabilitation facilities
  5. wellness & spas
  6. primary care providers
  7. long term acute care facilities (LTAC)
  8. home care services
  9. psychiatric and behavioral facilities.

A Standard Development Committee composed of experienced physicians and healthcare managers guides the development process of the AACI standards.  These standards are the basis of our accreditation services, providing a clear road-map for healthcare staff and delivering confidence to all stakeholders, including patients, board members, insurers and regulatory agencies. Information and experience related to the standards will be gathered on an ongoing basis. If a standard no longer reflects contemporary healthcare practice, commonly available technology, quality management practices, and so forth, it will be revised or deleted. It is currently anticipated that the standards will be revised and published at least every four years.

Additionally, AACI offers the unique service of a virtually immediate response to any question involving our standards or their interpretation. It is our purpose to make flexibility possible for your unique needs and maintain compliance with CMS, ISQua, WHO and other nationally and internationally recognized requirements. AACI is the only accreditation body to combine the Medicare Conditions of Participation with the management system standards including risk management consultation into a unified accreditation program. We have merged clinical requirements with some of the most recognized management standards in the world: ISO 9001, ISO 27001 and ISO 31000. But our standard reaches beyond that. Requirements including Ethical Practices, Sterilization and Decontamination,  and Information Security System challenges that modern healthcare organizations are facing today, are included in our accreditation portfolio.