In this topic:

Clinical Excellence Certification ™

The development of the AACI Clinical Excellence Standards is part of the AACI Quality and Patient Safety Program.

The AACI’s standards and emphasis on clinical practice guidelines help organisations establish a consistent approach to care, reducing the risk of error. Once certified, the benefits include risk mitigation and improved operational efficiency, which leads to better performance, lower costs, and ultimately, better patient safety.

Certification excellence standards help organize the disease specific management program. This helps to maintain a consistently high level of quality, using effective data-driven performance improvement. 

Meeting AACI Clinical Excellence standards is an accomplishment recognised with the awarding of AACI’s Platinum Medal of Certification.

To qualify for the AACI Clinical Excellence Certification, Maternity Services must operate either as an accredited freestanding facility or as a service within a larger healthcare organization with acceptable accreditation.

Standards Development Processes

Revision plan

The AACI Standards will undergo a major revision every 18 months. During the process of revision input shall be sought from current customers, patient groups, AACI surveyors and sales staff, and any other relevant external experts. Minor revisions can be initiated at any time but these shall be used only to clarify requirements or correct errors and not to introduce new requirements into the Standards.

Major Revisions

Major revision of the standards shall be run as projects with a project plan developed prior to initiation where timelines and required resources are identified.  A first draft shall be developed by the Development Group based on input that has been gathered over the period since the previous revision from surveyors and customers. The first draft document shall be circulated to internal experts. A second draft is then prepared based on the input received and this is reviewed by AACI experts.

A second draft is than circulated to stakeholders and external organisations.  A third draft will then be prepared based on the stakeholder feedback. The third draft is used for piloting with at least one healthcare organisation. The piloting involves reviewing the new document in a face to face meeting and identifying areas that are unclear and checking that the new requirements are reasonable and achievable. Finally, the new revision needs to be approved by the CEO before it is distributed to stakeholders.

Certification excellence service portfolio

Our Certification excellence service portfolio is designed to meet the requirements of any organisation wishing to demonstrate compliance of their clinical excellence.

Find out more of our clinical certification:

Maternity Services Clinical Certification

Acute Stroke Care Certification

Endoscopy Service Certification

Stroke Shield Certification

Management System Certification (provided by AACI d.o.o.)

Certification of your quality management system demonstrates your commitment to consistency, continual improvement and patient satisfaction. Find more about Management system certification:

ISO 9001:2015

EN 15224:2016

ISO 7101:2023

Request your offer here